Once a Month Meals- 27 Frozen Burritos

SAMSUNG

As I mentioned in my first article about OAMM (Five Tips for the Beginner), the frozen burritos I prepared were one of our favorite recipes from Take One. I doubled the recipe below and added a few of our favorite ingredients. I made some of the burritos just with refried beans, cheese and olives for a certain family member who has sensitive taste buds (okay, it’s me). This recipe takes awhile so be sure to set aside time (or enlist the help of your family) to put together the burritos once you’ve cooked the mixture.

Once a Month Meals- 27 Frozen Burritos for $1.50 a Piece!

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup rice (brown or white)
  • 0.5 lb of ground beef
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 medium onions, chopped
  • 4 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 small can of slice black olives
  • 1 jalapeno chile, chopped (ribs and seeds removed, for less heat)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
  • Coarse salt and ground pepper
  • 3 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 1 bag frozen corn kernels (10 ounces)
  • 6 scallions, thinly sliced
  • 16 burrito-size flour tortillas, 10 inches each
  • 2 cups (8 ounces) shredded Monterey Jack cheese
  • Salsa and sour cream, optional
  • 1 can of refried beans
  • 3 cans of beans (your choice, we used black beans, rinsed and drained).

Once a Month Meals- 27 Frozen Burritos for $1.50 a Piece!

  1. Cook rice according to package instructions; set aside.
  2. Meanwhile, heat oil in a large saucepan over medium. Add onions, garlic, jalapeno, and cumin; season with salt and pepper. Cook, stirring occasionally, until golden, 10 to 12 minutes. Add tomato paste, and cook, stirring, 1 minute. Add beans and 1 1/2 cups water; bring to a boil, reduce heat to medium, and simmer, stirring occasionally, until thickened, 10 to 12 minutes.
  3. Add corn; cook to heat through, 2 to 3 minutes. Remove from heat. The mixture (pictured above) turns out kind of strange looking, but it is so good!
  4. Heat tortillas according to package instructions (I just microwave them, but you could slightly fry them in a skillet too); fill with rice, bean mixture, and cheese.
  5. Assemble, fold sides, and hold them in. Starting from filled end, holding sides in as you work, tightly roll into a bundle. Place on a baking sheet, seam side down, and prepare remaining burritos. You’re not baking them, this is just to keep them from unfolding while you finish preparing the rest.
  6. Serve immediately, with salsa and sour cream or wrap and freeze!

Once a Month Meals- 27 Frozen Burritos for $1.50 a Piece!

Don’t forget that I DOUBLED the recipe above to get this many burritos and that I didn’t use the mixture in all of them. The number of burritos you get will depend on how much you put into each burrito and what kind you make. 27 is a weird number, I know, but I had some left over ingredients towards the end that I put together into extra burritos.

To freeze I wrapped each one generously with cling wrap and put five burritos into a gallon freezer bag. To reheat, unwrap the burrito and place a slightly damp paper towel around it. Then microwave for 2-3 minutes and enjoy! (times will vary depending on the power of your microwave). I still have a couple buried in the basement freezer and my husband still eats one from time to time, so I know they’ve lasted at least 3 months in the freezer!

Overall, my husband LOVED them! They were great for taking to work for lunch or for a quick dinner. They were pretty large and were enough to satisfy him and my growing son for a single meal. However, I could barely eat one. I think I finished one once when I hadn’t eaten all day and was starving.

Click HERE for the price breakdown (coming soon!)

2 thoughts on “Once a Month Meals- 27 Frozen Burritos

  1. Pingback: Once a Month Meals: Take One Price Break Down | Fat Food Addiction

  2. Pingback: Once a Month Meals: Freezer Burrito Price Breakdown | Fat Food Addiction

Leave a Reply

