Fairy Doors Craft Stick Project

Fairy Doors Craft Stick Project

Fairies and princesses are two of my Little Monster’s favorite things so when I saw this craft idea I had to see if she would be interested in it (for those who are unaware, Little Monster is my four year old daughter). It took a few days before she behaved herself and I had enough time to sit down with her, but today we finally had just the right combination of daughter and mommy patience.

Fairy Doors Craft Stick Project

What You Need:

  • Craft Sticks (or in my world: Popsicle Sticks)
  • Hot Glue Gun (we bought a low-temp gun at Wal-Mart for less than $3)
  • Glue Sticks (obviously)
  • Decorations! We used glitter, buttons and markers.
  • Scissors
  • Something to cover your work space (cardboard, newspaper, etc)
  • Paper plate. If you decide to use glitter this will come in handy for easy reuse and disposal.

I tried a few different ways of gluing the sticks together, but the best way I found was to lay the sticks out in the shape you want and then use the glue gun to make an “X” pattern across the back (see photo below). This keeps the sticks together and gives them some strength/structure. I tried to glue the sides together, but they broke apart easily while we were decorating them.

Fairy Doors Craft Stick Project

Fairy Doors Craft Stick Project

Little Monster did some coloring on her sticks before we glued them together. Then she picked out which buttons she liked the best, I put a dab of glue on her door and she placed them on. I went over the safety rules about the hot glue before we started, but didn’t feel comfortable letting her use the glue gun. Maybe in a few months we can work on that. I cut a couple sticks to put across her door and she decided to put some glitter on them. I let her shake the glitter after I put the glue on and then she had a beautiful fairy door!

Fairy Doors Craft Stick Project

Little Monster made one door (on the right above) and Mommy made two! I glued a stick onto the bottom so I could stick them easily into the ground.

These would be great for potted plants, terrariums and gardens too!

Fairy Doors Craft Stick Project

Fairy Doors Craft Stick Project

One thought on “Fairy Doors Craft Stick Project

  1. Pingback: Craft Stick Mummy | nuoweiyu.com

Leave a Reply

