Welcome to My Fridge

DSCN0389 I’ve always been interested in what is in other people’s fridges, so here is mine fresh after a trip to a couple grocery stores with my sister.

Before I list off a few of the items, I wanted to note that I’m only sharing a photo of my fridge because we don’t buy many frozen goods. Right now, the only things in our freezer are a couple of frozen organic burritos for my husband to take for lunch and fruit bars for the kids. In our pantry we have a wide variety of flours, since I like to do a lot of gluten free baking, cereal, rice, quinoa, potatoes and soup. We have drastically cut down on our convenience meals and I find more satisfaction in creating a meal from scratch any way.

Ok, so back to the fridge!

On the top shelf we have a ton of Greek God’s yogurt (I love the honey and strawberry), mayonnaise (my husband’s), a large variety of hummus, pizza sauce, Earth Balance “butter“, Toffuti Sour Cream and free-range eggs from mother’s chickens.

In the middle we have leftovers, strawberries, spinach, MORE hummus and pizza dough from Trader Joe’s.

On the bottom we have 4 cartons of almond milk, two cartons of Pacific soups, more spinach and strawberries, cheese, pomegranate, green pepper, grape tomatoes, granny smith apple, grapefruit and a large slicing tomato.

In the drawers on the bottom we have kiwis, more peppers, lemons, a ton of apples, carrots, eggplant and broccoli and in the top drawer we have some tempeh and turkey lunch meat.

We also have a selection of quick bars to eat for snacks. I recently bought a bunch of Larabars, Clif bars, Rickland Orchards Greek Yogurt Granola bars and Greens Plus Energy Bars.

These ingredients will last us anywhere from 2-3 weeks for our family of 5, depending on my kids’ appetites. Today, they were all about snacking rather than cooking a big meal so we ate fresh fruits and cereal for our meals.

For the fresh ingredients, we mostly shop at Trader Joe’s. They have the best prices in our area on fresh organic produce, but I don’t buy much else from there (though that is most of what is in my fridge). Any specialty items we buy at Whole Foods, but their prices are kinda high. My favorite place right now is Dierbergs. They have a pretty good selection of general items, especially gluten free products which I’m a fan of, and their prices are pretty average. I can also find a few organic produce items there if I’m in a hurry. I haven’t been to Walmart in a few weeks and I’m excited about that. They have extremely limited options for anyone who is health conscious. The only thing I’ve found there that I like is our store carries a two carton package of almond milk at a decent price, but I can pick it up at Trader Joe’s or Dierbergs for about the same price.

I’ll try to post a couple of our recent recipes in the next few days, but I hope this post gives you guys a couple of ideas on what to pick up the next time you’re at the store.

2 thoughts on “Welcome to My Fridge

  1. I’m so glad I found your blog, and wow your fridge looks amazing! I’ve only been a vegan for 2 months but when I have a home to myself I definitely hope my fridge looks something like yours does! I live with my parents at the moment so the fridge is filled with all sorts of soda, milk (soon to be never seen again–my parents agreed to never buy milk again after showing them evidence of casein promoting cancer), cheese, meat, cream cheese and much more. I have to cram in my food around all that nasty stuff!! I would love to open the fridge and not have to dig through everything to find my food!!

    So glad to see a refrigerator like this (:
    ~Ally

    • Thanks Ally! I hope that your parents are inspired by your choice to become a vegan and I’m glad that they are agreeing to small steps, like removing milk from their diet. And I’m glad you are enjoying the posts. Hope to see a few more of your comments in the future! 😀

Leave a Reply

